Tilth Restaurant


Sous Vide Sessions
August 6, 2008, 1:48 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I invited some of Seattle’s best food writers to the house to learn about sous vide cooking (read my previous post about sous vide). I have always loved foods that have been cooked sous vide, because the gentle method produces unctuous texture and intense flavors. I now have three immersion circulators and a commercial-grade vacuum packer.

I wanted to invite journalists to experience sous vide so that they can be better informed and share with their readers who may also be my customers about this rad technique. I have discovered that many people associate certain colors and textures with “cooked” and when they see something that has been prepared via sous vide, the biggest complaints are that the food is “raw” or that the temperature is tepid and therefore wrong. So I’m hoping that a little bit of education can go a long way.

Those who joined me today included Jess Thomson, Jay Friedman, Rebekah Denn, Cynthia Nims and Matthew Amster-Burton.

Comments Off on Sous Vide Sessions





Comments are closed.



