Tilth Restaurant


Meet the Wine Buyer
October 11, 2007, 11:02 pm
Filed under: Wine

Hello Tilth Oenophiles!

Since this is my first blog transmission, I wanted to introduce myself to everyone. My name is Adam Chumas and I am the wine buyer and dining room manager at Tilth. Now, a bit about our wine program: Our goal is to keep a stock of reasonably affordable Northwest and Old World wines. Both Maria and I love Oregon and French wine. I am particularly interested in keeping a list that matches our seasonal menus. For instance, this month I’ve bulked up on some Oregon pinot noir and chardonnay as well as some Rhone varietals. I think they best match the hearty fall dishes our kitchen has assembled for October.

An additional note about October: It is harvest week in the Willamette Valley. I was fortunate enough to spend some time at Argyle Winery, learning from the winemakers and enjoying plenty of great juice! This harvest has been a wet one, but the team at Argyle seems optimistic nonetheless. While I was there, I was enticed to pick up their Nuthouse chardonnay for my list. I think it’s a great pairing for our albacore tuna dish. The toasty oak notes hold up wonderfully to the brightness of the fresh cilantro and mint flavors and the acidity is sharp enough to cut the richness of the sumac-dusted tuna. Come check it out for yourself!

Adam


2 Comments

Adam-
We had a great dessert wine there in late august that was a non-Port Port if you know what I mean. I believe that it was Spanish.
Wrote down the name but it lost to posterity.
Can you tell me what it was/is.

Comment by Paul

Paul-

The non-port Port was a Madeira. The particular one that we serve is the Alvada 5-year Madeira, which is a fortified wine from the island of Madeira off the coast of Portugal. I find that it pairs excellently with our cheeses, especially the saltier and funkier types, because the rich, nutty flavors provide such an interesting contrast. There are also a slew of different styles and exhibitions of Madeira to try. Some are a bit smokier, some nuttier, and others are richer. We’ll be moving through a few different types over the course of the winter to warm the bones after your dinner. So stop in again soon and see what we’re offering.

Cheers,
Adam

Comment by Adam




Comments are closed.



