Tilth Restaurant


Today is our first anniversary!
September 1, 2007, 3:58 pm
Filed under: Events

Yep, it was a year ago today that we opened Tilth. It seems like yesterday. We had only three weeks to get the restaurant up and running, so I worked 16- and 17-hour days straight through. Tensions ran high and we were on fumes. My entire staff was pissed at me. They were pretty sure I was off my rocker and that we would never make the September 1 opening date. But we had to make it. That’s when rent was due.

I opened the business under-capitalized and with high hopes that we weren’t going to go out of business before we even got started. By opening day, some of our china still hadn’t arrived, the back kitchen sink started leaking like a sieve, we were running way behind in the kitchen and then, to top it all off, the pantry refrigeration went out. The repairman came out while the plumber fixed the sink. The cooks had to step over the workmen to get to their stations. It was a goat rodeo.

I couldn’t belive it! I didn’t have the money for stuff to break yet! Finally, I ran down to the basement, turned to my sous chef and started bawling. I lost it, hyperventilating and slobbering all over her chef’s coat. “How am I gonna pay for all of this?” I asked. She grabbed my shoulders, looked me square in the eye and said, “Chef, it’s going to be okay. It really is. We can do this.”

I knew she was right, so I took a couple of deep breaths, ran back upstairs into the kitchen, and, before I knew it, the sink got fixed, the refrigeration kicked on, the china arrived, the Tilth sign was hung and our doors opened! It’s gotten better every single day since. I have my staff and all of you who come and dine at Tilth to thank. I wonder where we’ll be next year.

Maria


1 Comment

Thanks for going through with your plan Maria and providing a great place for us to experience food. Having lived in Seattle through the dry spell it’s great to have so many quality places to go. Thanks also to you and your great staff for helping teach people to remember “where food comes from.”

Comment by Sylver Fishing Co




Comments are closed.



