Tilth Restaurant


Where I Like to Eat
August 31, 2007, 4:32 pm
Filed under: Where Maria Eats

People ask me all the time where I like to eat when I’m not cooking. Here is my current list:

  • Branzino (2429 2nd Ave.): Because simplicity is an honest and difficult way to cook, and Ashley is doing it well.
  • Brasa (brasa.com): Because Tamara’s food is full of earthy and robustly warm flavors.
  • Cafe Juanita (cafejuanita.com): Because Holly’s pasta is amazing.
  • La Carta de Oaxaca (lacartadeoaxaca.com): Because you’ve never seen an all-female line rock the kitchen the way they do and put out consistent, fast, incredible food traditional to Oaxaca.
  • Chiso (chisoseattle.com): Because I can never get enough of Taichi’s kasu black cod and the chawan mushi.
  • The Harvest Vine (harvestvine.com): Because Joseba’s food tastes sun-drenched.
  • Oliver’s Twist (oliverstwistseattle.com): Because Dan makes delicious food that works so well with the creative cocktail list they have.
  • Sambar (address): Because Jay makes the best drinks in town.
  • Spring Hill (www.springhillnorthwest.com): Because the menu is thoughtful and inspiring. It’s my favorite new restaurant right now.
  • Spur (www.spurseattle.com) : Because the food and cocktails bridge the gap between serious and playful. The fried mashed potatoes and pork belly sliders are slam dunk.
  • Tilth (tilthrestaurant.com): Because where else can your friend enjoy a monthly vegan tasting menu OR a mini duck burger.
  • Trophy Cupcakes (trophycupcakes.com): Because it makes your day better by eating the best cupcake ever — I like the PB & J flavor and the red velvet.

2 Comments

Lists of good restaurants are great, especially when I’ve only tried a couple of them, including Tilth (finally) for the first time last Sunday. I’ve never had such amazing corn.

Comment by Dave

Pork belly sliders!! That sounds dangerously awesome.

I LOVE La Carte de Oaxaca. I only rarely make it back to Seattle for dinner now that I have moved out of the city proper, and La Carte de Oaxaca is pretty much *the* place I make a point of visiting. That, and Txori (Chef Joseba’s other venture), Le Pichet, and Tilth (of course) which all require a bit more justification than Oaxaca (so cheap!).

Brasa and the Harvest Vine are for extra extra special occasions, like in-laws coming to town and willing to pay for dinner wherever we want.

I’m going to have to check out some of the others on your list, though. Thanks for sharing!

Comment by Lauren




Comments are closed.



